(new picture coming soon)

Parish Council Members:

Helen Dalbo, President

George Nitsos, Vice-President

Ruth Karabinas, Secretary

Dr Debra Chinonis, Co-Treasurer

JoAnne Schultz, Co-Treasurer

Diana Lillar, Ex-Officio

Lori Photiou

Joyce Kossaras

Susan Kallis

Nick Holland

What is a Parish Council?

The Parish Council is the elected, governing body of the parish that attends to the welfare, mission, and vision of the parish. A Parish Council serves many of the functions served by boards of directors or trustees at other non-profit organizations. Our Parish Council is responsible for the financial management of the church, making sure our bills are paid, our facilities maintained and our money managed safely and effectively. While our priest is our spiritual leader, the Parish Council support, through their actions and example, is critical in moving all of us to a closer relationship with Christ.

Eleven people serve on our Parish Council here at Assumption Church. Each Fall, when we hold our annual General Assembly meeting, we elect new Council members to begin serving a two-year term. Typically, one half of the Council will be finishing their terms on any given year. This ensures that there are fresh voices and new energy every year.
The entire congregation votes for who will be on the Council. The Council then, in turn, votes for a handful of positions to represent them: the president, vice president, secretary and treasurer.

Our Parish Council meets on the fourth Wednesday night of every month. The meetings start at 6:15 p.m and any member of the congregation is welcome to attend. However, there may be a rare occurrence that the Council chooses to “close” or have a private meeting. This is done at the discretion of the Council. The minutes of the Council meetings will be available on the website in the near future.

The rules of governance of our church were established by the Uniform Parish Regulations (UPR), and also by our Parish By-Laws, which are similar to a constitution. To see a copy of the UPR, please click here.

Latest Minutes can be found here